top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy Jo Searle

Who I Am

Written last night:


Tonight I went to a recovery festival where a lot of different recovery groups set up tables. I talked to many people, met some folks I knew from facebook but had never met face to face, and some, I knew in addiction but who are now in recovery. It was a wonderful and exciting night. And right at the end, God spoke to me. I didn't realize why I had stepped away from the concert going on but God was showing me something...or someone so to speak...me. Away from people waiting for me to fail and those who doubt, and away from my own self doubt, I shined tonight. People listened to me. They came up to talk to ME about what I'm doing, about Soulshine Ministry; they sought me to speak their testimonies to me.


And tonight, I heard God speak to me. "See? I told you." My perspective of myself has been so clouded by my past, by my mistakes, by my guilt that until tonight, I could not see the true beauty of who I really am. I am magnificent. I've been into the dark, through hell, and have come out the other side unbroken and my spirit and heart still shining bright.


This revelation shook my spirit and I am still walking in a daze. But I know there is more to come. God gave me what I could handle last night but has more realization for me today. So I turn to my scriptures like I do every day.




Today, in Our Daily Bread, God tells me to walk in the revelation I had last night and to share it.


I opened my Bible this morning and received a bit of insight as well as He led me back to John 2:13-25 where Jesus cleans out the merchants from his Father's House. Last night, I met people. I told them about Soulshine Ministry but did not ask for a solitary donation. I couldn't bring myself to do it because it didn't feel right. Instead, I got to know the people doing God's work. I passed out business cards for Freedom House and Belmont Gardens and Israel Hanchey's ministry in Natchez. (I wish I'd had business cards of my own.) I received free books, information, and testimonies. I feel like God was confirming the work I did last night.


I also received confirmation after confirmation that I should, as Israel Hanchey suggested yesterday morning, that I should write a devotional. As of today, that is now part of my ministry...a new goal God has put on my heart heavily. Perhaps that is the atmosphere I have been preparing my personal spaces at home for doing and why I have refused to throw away any of my notes for a year.


I am led to Ephesians 6:7-8


7 Serve wholeheartedly, as if you were serving the Lord, not people,8 because you know that the Lord will reward each one for whatever good they do, whether they are slave or free.


I have written for man before as a successful author of romance. Many have waited for me to write again but it has not been the right time or subject. God tell me today, now is the time and that its okay to be enthusiastic for writing for Him.











1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page