top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy Jo Searle

Cleaning House

Today I opened my Jesus Calling devotional:




For the past two weeks, I have only dropped off donations at Momma's Hope. I have not opened the doors or walked the neighborhood giving out food. And I feel like today's devotional was my message today to stop worrying about it all. Just because things don't go the way I would like everyday, I should keep my spirits up and focused on what God is doing and know that He is in control and working.


I was led to read John 2:13-25 which says:

Now the Passover of the Jews was at hand, and Jesus went up to Jerusalem. And He found in the temple those who sold oxen and sheep and doves, and the money changers doing business. When He had made a whip of cords, He drove them all out of the temple, with the sheep and the oxen, and poured out the changers’ money and overturned the tables. And He said to those who sold doves, “Take these things away! Do not make My Father’s house a house of merchandise!” Then His disciples remembered that it was written, “Zeal for Your house has eaten Me up.” So the Jews answered and said to Him, “What sign do You show to us, since You do these things?” Jesus answered and said to them, “Destroy this temple, and in three days I will raise it up.” Then the Jews said, “It has taken forty-six years to build this temple, and will You raise it up in three days?” But He was speaking of the temple of His body. Therefore, when He had risen from the dead, His disciples remembered that He had said this to them; and they believed the Scripture and the word which Jesus had said. Now when He was in Jerusalem at the Passover, during the feast, many believed in His name when they saw the signs which He did. But Jesus did not commit Himself to them, because He knew all men, and had no need that anyone should testify of man, for He knew what was in man.


This is the only time that I am aware of in the Bible that Jesus uses aggressive force and it is to clean out his father's house. I feel like God is telling me with these messages today to stop worrying about the schedule and put my own business into order. Without realizing it I HAVE already begun doing this. It started with the porch where I am growing plants and a small herb garden after God told me anything I plant would grow. And it has. Next, I have put to order my room in the house I live in but I know God is telling me that there is other stuff such as my food stamps, getting new glasses, and drivers license. Those are things I have pending to do so I will be working on all of them on Monday...putting my business to order.


Given the lessons God has been leading me through and today's message, I feel He is readying me for something big. So rather than groaning and complaining about anything, I should be praising him for what is coming, and doing so in peace and without fear.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page